Testimonials

What our customers say

Please click on the underscored link to the verified comments original source.

10★03-07-2017 Trip Adviser 5*Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I don’t even know where to start?!
The staff are amazing! So friendly and chatty make you feel very welcome!
Aussie the dog is amazing, so friendly and just wants to play!
The rooms were outstanding! The bed was unforgettable and I miss it already!
We WILL be back & WILL be recommending to all our friends and family!
The breakfast was top class and the views are breathtaking !
Thank you so much for this experience! Perfect was to end our already amazing trip!

Stayed July 2017 Victoria F / The Boro via Fife

10★03-07-2017“Friendly, comfortable, perfect B&B Hospitality of the staff, location, comfort, everything was just beautiful. Breakfast, freshly made and served beautifully. Room had everything you need for a comfortable stay, including a fan (yes, sometimes needed in Scotland!) The owners made you feel so welcome, treat you like friends and do everything to make your stay perfect. Large bedrooms – we had the Caledonian Suite- and huge living rooms where you can relax at night if you wish. Less than 5 minute drive into Dornoch. Would definitely return. Thank you to Stephen and Jayne.There was nothing we didn’t like” Dana / GB Glasgow

Personal Email Sent by Dana ”

Hi Stephen and Jayne, Paolo and I are not long home and just wanted to send you a big thank you. Apart from your beautiful B&B, your welcome to us made our stay even better.  You made us feel like friends and by the time we left we felt like we’d known you for years!!

On a personal note, Stephen, thank you for sharing your story with us…..from Melbourne to Dornoch.  …your story just shows us what kind of people you both are……….you are an inspiration.  You are special people.  We wish you a world of success , wherever it takes you.  You have worked hard and have achieved a beautiful, comfortable B&B and I’m sure your warm, caring personalities will bring many visitors back to you.

Thank you for looking after us so well and please say to Jayne I’m sorry we didn’t get to say bye to her properly (and I’m sorry for making her sad this morning)

Thanks again Dana (and Paolo)

9.6★01-07-2017Everything was very high quality. Bedroom very well appointed, lounge available with tv and wood burning stove ( which was on on our second night!), owners and staff very welcoming and helpful”. Lynn / GB

9.6★01-07-2017 “Stunning location Lovely friendly people” Hazel / GB

10 ★28-06-2017All the advantages of a hotel, with the personalisation of a top quality B&B The unseasonal temperature made us appreciate the heating in our room. The staff went out of their way to meet our needs. Aussie the dog was a delight and only introduced to us at departure.” Edward /GB

10 ★28-06-2017 “Awesome Hospitality .Excellent locationSUNIL BOHRA(INDIA)

10 ★27-06-2017 “Great! Great property. Friendly owners who greeted you and answers any questions. Excellent breakfast. Comfortable rooms. Lovely views from the lounge” John / Australia

9.2 ★15-06-2017We hope to return as we had Excellent breakfasts freshly cooked” Neil / GB

10 ★15-06-2017 “Fabulous accommodation Room was immaculate and very comfortable. Staff very friendly and welcoming.Delicious breakfastNo complaints whatsoever”.Douglas / GB

9.6 ★15-06-2017 “One of the best !Everything ..lovely room and bathroom, all in tip-top condition ..also best omelette I’ve had at breakfast ..highly recommend this place” Esther / GB

10 ★15-06-2017 “Amazing Stay

Hugh / GB
10 ★14-06-2017 Well appointed accommodation. “Very high standard. Very good attention to detail. Great location for visiting Dornoch and surrounding area.” Gerry / GB
10 ★14-06-2017 “Fantastic B & B We just had one night and wished we were staying for at least 4 or 5. Our room was beautifully appointed with everything you could need provided. 5 star luxury. Jayne and Stephen are welcoming hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Delicious breakfast too. Definitely the nicest B & B of all we’ve stayed in during our one month trip around Scotland. Keen to return to play at Royal Dornoch again and also to try Brora and Tain which were recommended. Castle Stuart is another fabulous course we played twice and it’s only an hour away. A golfing Mecca”! PHH223 / Sydney
9.6 ★13-06-2017 “Great place Friendly and helpful attitude of the owners” Anthony / CA

 

10 ★13-06-2017 “Well appointed accommodation. Very high standard. Very good attention to detail. Great location for visiting Dornoch and surrounding area“. Gerry / GB

10 ★11-06-2017 “A memorable stay in lovely peaceful surroundings.Jayne and Stephen were excellent hosts and Stephen produced wonderful food to order. A stunning conversion of a grain store into modern and stylish accommodation in close proximity to Dornoch”. Andrew / Harrogate

10 ★11-06-2017 “Feels like you are staying at a good friend’s fabulous house…”

“We stayed at the Steading as we were finishing up our drive on the NC500. After completing a day trip to the Orkneys and the 2 hour drive to Dornoch, arriving here was like finding an oasis in the desert. We arrived to be welcomed by Stephen, who took us on a tour around the house and showed us to our room. When we told him we had not eaten yet and the time was getting late, he immediately made a suggestions for a great pub nearby and told us we could finish the check in later to ensure we made it to the pub before they stopped serving food.. Our room was “the Cathedral”, which had tons of space, a massive closet, and a huge bathroom with all of the amenities. We felt like we were staying in a luxury hotel room. The best part is that this amazing room came with all of the benefits of a guest house… a huge and beautiful common space with a huge living room/kitchen. They have really thought of everything…complete with a well-stocked, self-service bar. The breakfast was amazing. Stephen is a great cook and they complimented his cooking with a full spread of meats, cheeses, fruits, yogurts, etc. The best part, though, was getting to spend some time hanging out with Jayne and Stephen. They are a great couple and it quickly felt like we were just having breakfast with a few friends. And of course Ozzy the dog was a great bonus (he loves to play fetch)! We loved our stay at the Steading and we hope to pass through Dornoch and be able to stay with them again! Highly recommend a stay here if you are anywhere near the area”.  SFOtotheworld / California

10 ★09-06-2017 “Highly recommend and definitely would return. Modern luxury in beautifully converted steadingAttention to detail and little touches. Everything thought of ! Relaxed feel and guests have ‘run’ of open plan lounge as well as facilities in rooms. Very welcoming, helpful and friendly hosts and staff. Very comfortable beds and spacious ensuite room. Lovely breakfast selection cooked to order. Will definitely be telling friends about this lovely gem with plenty character, on the edge of a beautiful wee town with lots to see and do. A perfect stay”. Julie / Aberdeen

10 ★08-06-2017Excellent 3 days stay. Very friendly and helpful. Rooms are brilliant and comfortable. Would recommend to anyone. Definitely be back”. Jorden / GB

9.6 ★08-06-2017  “Perfect overnight stay in superb accommodaton.The friendliness, helpfulness and professionalism of the owners. The accommodation was superb, and an excellent breakfast in a lovely room with a log burner”. Virginia / GB

10 ★08-06-2017  “Lovely setting with even lovelier hosts. Stayed here on our last night having done the North Coast 500. Massive beds, meticulously clean and well thought out rooms with all the extras and facilities you could need. We ate at the recommended Castle Hotel and they (at The Steading) offered a lift to and from with their minibus, even a wee local tour around Dornoch thrown in. They’ve put a lot of heart and soul into this place and it shows. A throughly recommended wee gem.” � Moyes Abby / Aberdeen

10 ★ 08-06-2017  “Excellent stay Wonderful ’boutique b and b’ close to Dornoch and many great golf courses. Jayne and Stephen were excellent hosts and have attended to every attention to detail at the Steadings and especially in the bedrooms. I wish all hotels bedrooms were so well equipped. Stephen cooked delicious breakfasts. We also had one dinner there which was very good. Jayne was happy to drive us into Dornoch which was a bonus. I can highly recommend The Steadings”. RS / Skegness
10 ★ 07-06-2017  “Fantastic place! Beautiful guest house with large, well-equipped bedroom and not a speck of dust in sight! So much thought has gone in to making this place just right (from plug sockets next to the full length mirror to huge comfy beds that you don’t want to get out of to Sky TV with hundreds of channels to plenty of hangers in the wardrobe). The lounge/dining area is a lovely, bright space with a fabulous wood burning stove and coffee and shortbread available all day. Breakfast was great too (seriously good potato scones!). The best part though is the owners, Jayne and Stephen, who were so welcoming and friendly. I know others have said it but genuinely, it felt as if nothing was too much trouble – and if you’re lucky you might get to play tug of war with Ozzy the dog”. LoloRB / Edinburgh

10 ★ 06-06-2017  “Welcoming B&B This is a brilliant place to stay, more like a boutique hotel than a b&b. The owners are very friendly and welcoming. Great lounge areas, well stocked honesty bar and large comfy bedroom. The house is gorgeous and very good breakfast too! Everything you could need or want. Highly recommended”!! Lianne /  (GB)

10 ★ 02-06-2017  “Just awesome!! The cleanest and nicest room ever with a really comfortable and huge bed! Jayne and Stephen do a wonderful job! Nice food, nice location apart from the crowd and nice atmosphere! Outstanding – nothing to complain about”!! – Moni / Switzerland

 

10 ★ 31-05-2017 “Fantastic, warm and welcoming. The accomodation was fantastic, very fresh decor and spotlessly clean. Pure white bedding and fluffy white towels. The porridge with caramelised banana and honey for breakfast was amazing. Steven and Jayne have thought of everything you could need in your room”. – Graeme / GB

10 ★ 31-05-2017 Hi Jayne, Stephen called me this morning to say that his stay was ‘sensational!’  he had nothing but praise for you and said the set up and breakfast was just fantastic – so thanks again! He knows a lot of people in business/golf so he will send them your way at every opportunity!

Keep up the good work!  Hope to get you some more business soon!

PAULINE

GOLD PERSONAL TRAVEL COUNSELLOR

10 ★ 28-05-2017 “What a Way to Remember Scotland.What a wonderful experience! After a fantastic tour of the Dunrobin Castle and a beautifully warm (almost hot)day we arrived at The Steading. Warm welcome by our hosts Stephan & Jayne and Aussie (their dog). This B&B is located in the farmlands above the town of Dornoch. You can see the town and the ocean from the well appointed gathering/dining room. Our room was an ensuite with all amenities including a well stocked mini bar (minimal cost). Prior to arrival we were asked if we would like to have dinner that night and were provided a menu to select our choice. So glad we did! Stephan is a great chef and prepared a lovely grilled salmon and bacon wrapped chicken dinner (with appetizers) while Jayne gave us some insightful information about the town and surrounding areas. Breakfast with other guests in the morning was “to order”. Hated to leave this very comfortable home away from home.Fortunately we took the first left turn into Dornoch after we left Dunrobin. The Steading is located in the fields above the town so road signs are hard to find. Keep you eyes pealed for the right turn to the end of the road, it’s worth it!”- Lesa / US

 

10 ★ 22-05-2017 “Bed was amazingly comfy, spotlessly clean. Delicious breakfast. Wonderful place, owners couldn’t have been more helpful. Looking forward to our next visit”.- Alan / GB

10 ★ 21-05-2017 “The location was stunning , the accommodation was 5 star , and the hosts were fantastic.” – Mark GB

10 ★ 19-05-2017 “Old world property setting with brand new rooms and fittings Wonderful hosts who really understand what B&B is all about. 10 out of 10” – Sharon / Australia

10 ★ 15-05-2017 “Individuelles Dinner zu sehr zivilen Preisen, offene Küche, kleiner Essbereich und bequeme Sofas, das wohne ich gerne wieder.” – Ingrid / Germany

10 ★ 14-05-2017 “Jayne and Steve wonderful and friendly hosts. Bed a delight to sleep in and lovely roomy bathroom with hot water all day long. They have thought of everything.They even have a minibus which we thought was a great idea! Highly recommend a stay.” – Daniela / United Kingdom

10 ★ 09-05-2017 “Luxury and immaculate accommodation with lovely, friendly owners. We stayed here for two nights and were really well looked after. Super comfy bed and well-equipped room with a power shower and huge, soft towels. Breakfast was great too.” – Laura / United Kingdom

9.6 ★ 07-05-2017 “Nieuwe gebouwde B&B in een oude graanschuur. Is echt top qua sfeer, inrichting en onderhoud. Het is er superschoon en de torenkamer is bijzonder mooi. De andere kamers zijnw wat kleiner maar dat wordt gecompenseerd door een grote gedeelde woonkamer. Verder is het internet supersnel en kent de TV 500 zenders. Het ontbijt was prima – afwisselend, persoonlijk klaargemaakt en geserveerd in de mooie gemeenschappelijke woonkamer.” – Jeichina / Netherlands

10 ★03-05-2017  “I use my stay here as the bar by which i judge everywhere else, the owners were amazing and really go the extra mile at all times. This was truly a home from home. The bed was super comfortable. Always warm. Complete sky sports. Showers are hot and powerful. Excellent wifi for the area. All the food was freshly prepared and excellent in terms of value and quality. Shuttle service available if you want to eat out in Dornoch. Nice views from the lounge area. Got free laundry which helped me loads since I was there so long” – Ricg / United Kingdom

Your review score is 9.8, but what did your guests actually think? We analyzed your last three months of reviews that had comments, then used them to highlight what your guests thought about your property’s most important categories.
What guests loved
  • Individuelles Dinner zu sehr zivilen Preisen, offene Küche, kleiner Essbereich und bequeme Sofas, das wohne ich gerne wieder
  • Wonderful place, owners couldn’t have been more helpful
  • Bed was amazingly comfy, spotlessly clean
  • Delicious breakfast
  • The location was stunning , the accommodation was 5 star , and the hosts were fantastic
  • Old world property setting with brand new rooms and fittings Wonderful hosts who really understand what B&B is all about
  • Bed a delight to sleep in and lovely roomy bathroom with hot water all day long
  • Breakfast was great too
  • Super comfy bed and well-equipped room with a power shower and huge, soft towels
  • Luxury and immaculate accommodation with lovely, friendly owners
  • Got free laundry which helped me loads since I was there so long
  • The owners were amazing and really go the extra mile at all times
  • Always warm
  • Excellent wifi for the area
  • Shuttle service available if you want to eat out in Dornoch
  • Nice views from the lounge area
  • Showers are hot and powerful
  • The bed was super comfortable
  • All the food was freshly prepared and excellent in terms of value and quality
  • De andere kamers zijnw wat kleiner maar dat wordt gecompenseerd door een grote gedeelde woonkamer
  • Is echt top qua sfeer, inrichting en onderhoud
  • Het is er superschoon en de torenkamer is bijzonder mooi
  • Het ontbijt was prima – afwisselend, persoonlijk klaargemaakt en geserveerd in de mooie gemeenschappelijke woonkamer
  • Verder is het internet supersnel en kent de TV 500 zenders